Linebackers dominate high school football awards

Written by admin on 14/11/2018 Categories: 老域名出售

LETHBRIDGE – While offensive players tend to grab the spotlight in football, a pair of players who excel on the defensive side stepped to centre stage at the Southern Alberta High School Football League awards.

Mitch Boychuk of the LCI Rams was named MVP of the ‘A’ division, while Chinook Coyotes standout Zach Prankard won in division ‘B’. Both players also earned top linebacker honours in their respective divisions.


Boychuk helped LCI roll to a perfect 4-0 record in the regular season, winning the league’s T. Eaton Trophy. The Rams defeated Raymond 31-14 in the Tier I south division final, earning a spot in provincials. They begin action with a quarterfinal against Calgary’s Centennial Coyotes Saturday at the University of Lethbridge stadium.

“I’m just happy that I have this opportunity,” said Boychuk. “And, it’s nice to know that everything we’ve done, everything the team’s done, and how I’ve helped the team, has all paid off. We’re going on to provincials now and hopefully I can keep playing well and, hopefully, take our team to the provincial final if we can.”

Prankard was a key part of a turnaround for the Chinook Coyotes. After years of struggles the team finished first in division ‘B’ with a perfect 3-0 record, earning the Jerry Dawson Trophy. Their season ended with a 17-0 loss in the regional final against Catholic Central.

“It’s just really cool to know that all the hard work paid off finally,” said Prankard. “And, it’s just really cool to be recognized in front of all the people like this.”

Southern Alberta High School Football League awards.

Paul Kingsmith / Global News

Here is the full list of most outstanding positional players in the SAHSFL:


Quarterback – Scott Mazutinec, RaymondRunning Back – Liam Hyland, LCIReceiver – Boomer Heggie, RaymondOffensive Line – Tyler Lentz, LCIDefensive Back – Brady Nelson, LCILinebacker – Mitch Boychuk, LCIDefensive Line – Paul Dumont, LCIPunter & Kicker – Derek Sentes, CCH


Quarterback – Nick Myndio, ChinookRunning Back – Tim Prankard, ChinookReceiver – Bradley Marsden, W.R. MyersOffensive Line – Connor Kopp, ChinookDefensive Back – Nick Myndio, ChinookLinebacker – Zack Prankard, ChinookDefensive Line – Brady Broderson, Willow CreekPunter & Kicker – Lee Fielden, Willow Creek


Comments Off on Linebackers dominate high school football awards